Europe day five (Sept 12): Vienna. Swap meet, Gypsies, Museums, and Classical Music.

I woke early and went walking around the city.  I had no specific destination in mind; I simply had time to kill while waiting for the Museums to open.

I happened upon a large swap meet and just went browsing.   I travel light and don’t ever buy much as I have no where to put it.   I also hate tacky souvenirs.

I went over to Museum Platz and was wandering the grounds before it opened.   I was approached by a gal.  I should have just ignored her.   I didn’t understand at the time, but learned later that she was a Gypsy.  She approached me and gave me a rose.  She was asking for change.  I offered her the few Euro coins I had in my pocket, but she wanted a 5.

In retrospect, what I did next was stupid.  Up to this point, I had been being very careful.  I had my wallet in my front pocket, and was carrying the bulk of my cash in a money belt.   What I shouldn’t have done is open my wallet in front of her.  She took the five and grabbed a 10 too.

I learned later that they often work in pairs.   One distracts you, usually with children, while the partner picks you clean.   €15 Euros was spent educating me.  It could have been much worse.

The museum I was interested in was the Kunsthistorisches.  They had an exhibit on Ancient Egypt.  The admission price was €14.

The exhibit on Ancient Egypt was one of the best I’ve seen.  They had a lot of artifacts as well as mummified people, cats, dogs, alligators, and snakes.

There was also an exhibit on Ancient Greece.   Other notable exhibits were artifacts from the Hapsburg rule and a coin collection which included coins from Israel pre-dating Christ.
IMG_3786 IMG_3787 IMG_3790 IMG_3792 IMG_3793 IMG_3794 IMG_3799 IMG_3800 IMG_3801 IMG_3802 IMG_3803 IMG_3804 IMG_3805

Across the street from the museum is the Hofborg museum.  In it is a hall where Mozart used to preform.   I bought a ticket for €55 for a 7:30 show.

I went to lunch and the back to the hotel to rest.

I walked through Museumsquartier on my way to the performance hall.   I stopped at a pub in the square and had a couple of weiss beers with a German transplant, named Thomas:

IMG_3807
The concert covered the works of Mozart and Strauss.  There was a full orchestra and four opera singers.  It was worth doing just because it was in such a historic building.

IMG_3808ProgramFrontProgramBackPerformance 1

Leave a Reply

