Europe, Day Two: Prague, Czech Republic

Jet lag had seriously messed up my internal clock.   People who know me well know that I already struggle with a normal sleep schedule.

I was up at 03:30.   I went down to the hotel breakfast at 07:00.  The spread was much different than the usual U.S. Continental breakfast.   There were meats, both cold and hot, scrambled eggs (with and without vegetables), a variety of breads, muesli, and yogurt.  There was also an espresso machine.

I headed out of the hotel and just started walking around the city.   I spent a good hour walking through a large park.  I wanted to see Prague Castle, The St. Charles Bridge, and the Astronomical clock.   I was also looking for any kind of micro brewery.

Sunrise in PragueView of the Danube 1

From the park, I walked down to the St Charles bridge.  I went from there up to Prague Castle, which contains a Cathedral.   For lunch I had a Pilsner Urquell and a chicken wrap.

Prague Castle from Distance

Nice view

Nice view

St. Charles Bridge

St. Charles Bridge

Cathedral inside castle walls

Cathedral inside castle walls

Inside Castle walls

Inside Castle walls

Cathedral one

Cathedral

Cathedral

Cathedral

Cathedral

Cathedral

Cathedral

Cathedral

Inside the Cathedral

Inside the Cathedral

I walked down to the main square, exchanged dollars for Czech Crowns, and had a couple of pints at a downtown location.

0.5 liter beer (pivo)

0.5 liter beer (pivo)

Czech Koruna (Crowns)

Czech Koruna (Crowns)

After walking 11.5 miles that day, I was exhausted and went back to the hotel to rest.

I found out that the beer in the hotel was overpriced.  97 crowns for 1/2 liter.   Away from the main tourist attractions, it was 35-40 crowns.  The exchange rate was about 23 crowns to the dollar.

That night, I went to a nearby restaurant.   The beer was so cheap, a drunk like me is bound to overdue it.  I had had 4 0.5 liter glasses.   I met a local, named Ihab   We proceeded to drink a couple of more beers and some shots of some local liquor.   We ended the night at a pub called “Ferdinands”.  The beer was good, but the tobacco and marijuana smoke was thick in the place.  Fortunately, I didn’t stay long.

IMG_3753
Fortunately, all of the beer was about 4% ABV.  if it were the 6-9% stuff I’m used to in San Diego, I’d be in real trouble.

One thing I learned was not to tell the locals how cheap the beer is.  It’s cheap to westerners, but not necessarily to them.

Leave a Reply

